The Fred Potter Senior Citizen
PROPOSED BY THE ARKANSAS VETERANS NETWORK, INC.
For An Act To Be Entitled
The Fred Potter Senior Citizen Financial Protection Act
An act to protect senior citizens from financial harm due to civil adjudication in all courts and venues in the State of Arkansas.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ARKANSAS:
SECTION 1. EXEMPTIONS IN CLAIMS AND IN COURT ADJUDICATION
SECTION 2. EVIDENCE
SECTION 3. RESTRICTIONS
SECTION 4. LEGISLATIVE INTENT.
It is the intent of the General Assembly that all senior citizens over the age of 60 years shall enjoy their financial resources and the protection thereof without any coercion by any party to a power of attorney, trust, executor, civil litigation or any state court in the State of Arkansas.
SECTION 5. EFFECTIVE DATE. This act is effective on and after (DATED).
“IF YOU DON’T STAND FOR OUR SENIOR CITIZENS THEN YOU DON’T DESERVE OUR VOTE”
How a Bill Becomes a Law in Arkansas
• A concerned citizen contacts his/her Senator or Representative.
• After a bill is drafted, it can be introduced by any member of the House or Senate. More than one legislator can sponsor a bill. The bill is filed with the Bill Clerk, who assigns the bill a number.
• The bill is then introduced and read in the House or the Senate for the first and usually a second time (a bill must be read three times before final passage).
• After reading, the bill is assigned to the appropriate Committee.
• The Committee schedules the bill to be read at a public meeting where legislators and anyone interested can speak for or against the bill. The committee can also add amendments to a bill.
• The committee then votes on the bill. The committee can vote one of four ways: do pass, do pass as amended, do not pass, or without recommendation.
• If a bill is amended, the bill is engrossed to include the amendment.
• When a bill comes out of committee, it is placed on the calendar for a third reading. At the third reading, the Reading clerk reads the title of the bill for the third and final time.
• Vote: Most bills are adopted by a simple majority. Appropriation bills require a
3/4 vote. Initiated acts may be amended or repealed by a 2/3 vote of both houses.
• If the Bill fails, it dies on the floor.
• If the bill passes, it is sent to the opposite chamber and repeats the process that it followed in the previous chamber.
• When bills are passed by both houses, the enrolled bill is certified by the presiding officer of each house and sent to the Governor.
• The Governor must sign, veto, or refer the bill back to its house of origin with his objections within 5 days. The bill may be passed over the Governor’s veto by a simple majority vote of both houses. A bill not signed or returned within 5 days of session must be signed or vetoed by the Governor within 20 days of adjournment of the general assembly or it becomes law without his signature.
•All acts are given a number and filed with the Secretary of State.